Castillon Piano Trio

Andrew Smith - violin
Andrea Mills - cello
Joseph Bognar - piano

The Castillon Piano Trio was formed in 2001 in the United States when Andrew Smith and Joseph Bognar, faculty at Valparaiso University, invited cellist Andrea Mills to join them for a performance of Messiaen's profound masterpiece Quartet for the End of Time commemorating at the 2002 Liturgical Institute.  After a memorable candlelight performance the trio formed a bond that has been spotted in their subsequent concerts for Public Radio's WAUS-FM.  Since their formation they have presented concerts throughout the mid-west and their dynamic interpretations have been praised for the unity of their ensemble.  In 2004 they will become artists in residence at the 2004 Stamford International Music Festival.

The trio takes its name from the French composer, Alexis de Castillon, who died tragically in the early years of his career.  His memory was held dear by a generation of young French composers, from Saint-Saëns and Fauré to Debussy and Ravel, who remembered him as a founding member of the new French school and the first composer of his generation to devote himself almost exclusively to writing chamber music.

Like the music of Castillon, the trio's repertoire combines the classic masters of the form with contemporary and lesser-known composers: from Haydn, Mozart and Beethoven to Piston, Shostakovich and Nyman.

Castillon Piano Trio

Mouseover thumbnails below or click for larger version

  • Click for a larger image

Coming soon...